The four Cardinal Virtues, as recognized by some faith traditions are:

  1. Prudence
  2. Courage
  3. Temperance
  4. Justice

Prudence essentially means Wisdom. It’s the ability to discern the appropriate course of action to be taken in a given situation at the appropriate time.

Courage is an emotion that results in action. It’s fortitude, strength, endurance and the ability to confront fear amidst uncertainty and intimidation.

Temperance is restraint, the practice of self-control and moderation.

Justice, in this context, is considered as fairness.

What an exemplary set of values to be lived out and taught to future generations. Yet, in today’s society, we are bombarded with news and social media espousing quite an opposite set of virtues.

In the face of Prudence there is an apparent lack of careful thought that goes into rushed and rash decisions. In the face of Courage, many cower in fear. In the face of Temperance, a gluttony of ‘things’ have pervaded our lives.  In the face of Justice, we tend to exert dominating opinions and thoughts with no concern of other’s views.

Gentle reader, may our lives be lived Virtuously.

May we live with Wisdom as we encounter our actions.

May we be Courageous and confront fear with fortitude and strength.

May we embrace Temperance and moderation knowing giving is more important hoarding.

May we display Justice as we encounter those who may think differently than us.

Better together…